Urbano prides itself on being an entirely artist-run organization. Every member of Urbano is as committed to artistic practice as they are to excellence in arts education, and that perspective shines through the rigor and innovation of our work. We are also a learning and growing organization, always striving to better achieve our mission.

Stella Aguirre McGregor
Founder and Executive/Artistic Director
Stella sets the artistic vision for Urbano and oversees the organization's administration. Stella has been an artist and cultural worker for over 25 years, working on projects in Boston, Macedonia, New Orleans, and Taiwan. As an artist, curator, and arts administrator she is interested in exploring the role of art in society, as an integral part of life, and as a catalyst for social change. As Executive Director of the Cloud Foundation (2003-2009) she developed the teen programs that became Urbano. Previously she was Program Manager for Individual Artists at the MA Cultural Council and Senior Public Art Administrator for Boston's Central Artery/Tunnel project. In 1986 she founded The Space, an award-winning artist-run space where she produced over 200 projects with national and international artists and youth.


Anthony Peña
Studio and Programs Coordinator

Anthony is also currently a Fellow who has been working at Urbano for over four years. Anthony has created and curated many events in his time at Urbano, taking a lead role in many community based artworks and engagements. In addition to his work at Urbano, Anthony has also contributed his artistic vision to the Teen Behind the Scenes program at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, working with other teens in his community to curate a youth-aimed event to promote a more diversified, intergenerational museum audience. Anthony has also been a part of Harvard Graduate School of Education’s Making Caring Common Youth Advisory Board aimed at improving public schools throughout the US by promoting care, justice, and kindness.





Nina Berger

Daniel D'Oca

George Fifield

Doris Sommer

Kristen Struebing-Beazley